Parking Stories

October 6, 2009

Here are a few snippets from emails conversations with other residents about the parking situation:

Mr H. of Railway Street writes:

“I have not had a ticket, but I have had a builder doing some work on my house. We have to get a good parking space a day or two before, then not move our car until the builder arrives. Then we have to drive off and look for a space, which will usually be over the bridge, and then fetch the car later to try and occupy a space somewhere near our house. Quite a performance you will agree.

Another comment is about inconsiderate parkers who leave large gaps between cars – not enough to park in but enough to take up two spaces, this soon fills up the street, especially when the commuter in question is gone for a weekend or a week, (or in one case for weeks and weeks!!).”

Miss F. of Castle Street writes:

“I have resided in Castle Street since 1999 (a few doors down from the railway inn). When I bought the property parking was not the problem it is today. Between 1999 – late 2007 I nearly always managed to find a space – this was mainly due to being able to use the 1 hour parking zone opposite Railway Inn as it was not warden patrolled regularly back in those days.

Since the wardening was introduced in late 2007, parking became more and more of an annoyance as every car owner (whether a resident from Castletown or those parking to shop or go on the train) scrambled for an available space. The parking situation has not improved, nor enabled residents to park in their street – it has only served to infuriate residents who are now regularly ticketed.

The increase in council parking to over £1 per hour has driven even more shoppers/commuters/students to park in Castletown as they avoid having to pay the hourly rates. Why does the council not offer more ‘affordable’ parking solutions? Offer students and commuters reduced rates? Do the council really think that the new station car park will eleviate the parking problem? (– not at over £1 per hour it won’t!)

Between late 2007 and Jan 2009 I received 7 parking fines (almost one a month) each costing me £35.00… a total of £245 for 12 months parking. (Yes, I admit I was either on yellows or parked over the 1 hour limit on these occasions but is this perhaps a cheaper way for me to park than £2-£5 pounds spent on Sainsbury’s every week when I cannot find a space or even potentially cheaper than the residents parking badge will cost me!!?)

Also during this time, my car was vandalised on three separate occasions (brick through front window and scratches all down bonnet – £200, wing mirror ripped off – £150 (speeding motorists in Castle Street another issue!!!), key scratches all down one side of vehicle – didn’t even bother getting them done as I’d already paid a lot out and so still have this little reminder.

Then to top it all off my car was also hit (when parked on the bridge overnight due to not being able to find a space) by a driver who left me one morning with over £400 worth of damage, but alas they forgot to leave me their details – how nice of them! (Yes, thank you to the inconsiderate person in the big red van or car who did this – you cost me a lot of money)!!!!!!!!!!!

I love living in Castle Street but the parking situation, car vandalsim and speeding motorists really does make you want to move. (If I could afford to I’d move and get a house with a drive!)

On another point – I have a dog. I work. My Mum and my friend each come round to let the dog out or pick her up twice a day (yes, I owe them and they are the best dog sitting service ever!!!!). The issue – they find it really difficult to park, even in the 1 hour zone, and are constantly whinging to me about it.

I am one resident who is fortunate enough to have only a single line outside/ in front of my house (i.e. 20 mins parking only), but my dog sitters either cannot park due to other vehicles already pulled up there, or are constantly having to move for lorries and keeping eyes peeled for wardens. When visiting my dog one day, my friend parked on the path in front of Herberts Car Park fence (a position which, when I can, I have parked on for 10 years). The police were called out. My friend was very very angry and it took me a long time to persuade her to come back again. It makes it very difficult for my mum and friend to continue to let the dog out for me on a long term basis. Perhaps if they had a badge in their car that showed they were resident friends it may help?”

Mr K. of Jerningham Street writes:

“Issue One – Parking Offences

Parking on the pavement in Jerningham Street has become a repeated problem in the last six months.  We feel that this has the opportunity for serious repercussions. On several occasions wider vehicles have struggled to drive through the street when cars are double parked on it. In such cases vehicles have reversed out onto the fast flow of Doxey Road. Several near misses have been witnessed in recent weeks. You will also be aware that there is an access gate to the west coast mainline railway at the top of Jerningham Street; we are certain that this gate would also be required for emergency access which would certainly be prevented by a street blocked with cars. Equally, we are concerned for the access that would be denied to emergency vehicles to residences in the event of a fire. When the police were responsible for all traffic violations in the area, offenders were ticketed and this generally prevented repeated occurrences.  Since the Borough has taken control of parking offenses, owners have deemed the pavement on the post office side of the road a legal parking option.

Issue Two – Motoring Offences

We are conscious of several locations within the Castletown area that require monitoring of speed and motoring offenses. Traffic leaving the roundabout at the Castle Tavern through to Doxey is often excessive with speed and dangerous to both pedestrians and cars accessing or leaving the North Castle Street or Jerningham Street junctions. We would welcome a review of speed calming measures, ideally in the form of a pedestrian crossing and/ or speed bumps between this round about and the entrance to North Castle Street.

We would welcome a review of Castletown speed limit. In an area of such narrow streets a restriction of 20mph would be prudent. We welcome suggestions for preventing motorists driving the wrong way down our one-way streets

Issue Three – Castle Works Signage

Repeatedly, lorries enter Castle Street believing that it is the entrance to the lorry park behind Sainsburys. Particularly foreign drivers who see a symbol of a lorry which in fact indicates Castle Works. These vehicles struggle to reverse out on to the main road and cause considerable risk to passing traffic and damage to buildings.”

One Response to “Parking Stories”

  1. Mr G Says:

    An accunt of an experience with a warden recently.

    As I was busy til late on Sunday I couldn’t find a parking space when I returned home, after working for 10 hours at a festival, at just after 9pm, i parked my car right on the end of the double yellows opposite my front door. I did this as I hoped to be away early on Monday and wouldnt obstruct ot inconvenience anybody.
    Well, Monday morning comes & I’m unsurprisingly tired after a busy weekend so didn’t get away til about 0845. When I opened the door there was a traffic warden standing there writng my number in his pad. I looked at him and he said nothing at first as I unlocked the car. Then a conversation took place along the lines of –
    Warden – Are you aware you are breaking the law parking there sir?
    Me – Yes
    Warden – So why do you do it then?
    Me – Because I got home late and thought I’d be away early and wasn’t inconveniencing anybody
    Warden – You’re still breaking the law – pause – Can I give some advice? To stop me giving you a ticket could you park over there on the pavement, two on two off so you’re not on yellow lines?
    Me – so you’d rather me obstruct and inconvenience pedestrians than park here?
    Warden – (shrugs) All those others do it…
    Me – Shakes head, gets in car and clears off without a ticket!

    I do not claim to be above the law by parking on yellow lines but do not knowingly park to obstruct any junction or vehicle path. This sort of encounter just shows the inconsistency we deal with.


Leave a comment